What States Have The Harshest Punishments For DUIs?
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense. It endangers you, your vehicle, any passengers in your vehicle, and everyone around you. Regardless of where you are driving to or from, driving while intoxicated is illegal. How harsh of a punishment you get, however, varies depending on where you live.
The State Of Arizona
Arizona is considered to be the state in the U.S. with the strictest DUI laws in effect, as of 2016. Back in 2007, the state of Arizona became the first state in the U.S. to require first offense DUI offenders to have the ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for an entire year. While there are other states that now require first-time offenders to have the device installed, they do not require it to be installed as long as the state of Arizona does. The ignition interlock device serves as a built-in breathalyzer that prevents individuals from driving a vehicle, as the vehicle will not start unless the driver is sober.
The State Of Indiana
In the state of Indiana, first, second, and third offenses of driving while intoxicated merit roughly the same amount of time during which your license will be suspended. Even as a first offense, the state of Indiana may suspend your license for two years. According to FindLaw, this is nearly a year longer than just about any state in the U.S.
The State of Florida
In the state of Florida, your vehicle will get impounded for a minimum of 10 days following your first offense. The only exception would be if impounding your vehicle leaves your family without a mode of transportation. Getting your vehicle out of impound after 10 days can be an expensive feat, as you have to worry about the initial tow charge, the daily storage fee, and any additional charges if a flatbed or dolly had to be used.
According to Cost Helper, getting your vehicle out of impound could cost as much as $1,000 dollars. If the impound lot your vehicle is at charged a $400 towing fee, a $200 flatbed fee, and $25 a day in storage fees, you would be looking at $850 just for a 10-day impound.
It is important to keep in mind that DUI laws can change at any time. It is not uncommon for organizations such as Mothers Against Drunk Driving (also known as MADD) to push states to incorporate stricter laws in order to encourage people to stop drinking.
For more information, contact Tekulve Law or a similar firm.